top of page
Search

Aromatherapy for the Flu


I started this morning prepping for the plans I had for my day: meetings, product development, a day of focusing on my business and my dreams. An hour later, I was back in my sweats, hair in a mom-bun, and tending to my son as he battled the flu. With a quickness I went from #bossbabe to #momlife and wondering what to do for my little man.


By late-morning he finally fell back asleep and I turned to my bag of tricks to help boost his (an everyone else in the house’s) immune system, and cleanse the air in our home. Here's what I did, and how I did it.


Choosing the essential oils.


There are a variety of essential oils that you can choose to help boost the immune system, and kill bacteria and viruses. When it comes to the flu, I choose essential oils that not only have those qualities, but help to create a fresh, uplifting vibe too. When you've been feeling down and grimy all day, creating a cooling and fresh environment really helps improve your mentality. And like I always say, 'where the mind goes, the body follows.' Below are the essential oils and the blend recipe that I diffuse during the flu.


1. Citrus (orange or lemon)

Both orange (citrus sinensis) and lemon (citrus limon) essential oils contain antibacterial and antiviral properties making them wonderful collaborators when trying to get rid of a virus. These essences also help us feel fresh and revitalized, which is also something you desperately want when you've been feeling sick all day.


2. Rosemary

Much like organge and lemon, rosemary (rosmarinus officiallis) helps to boost the immune system by killing bacteria and viruses. Rosemary also helps to boost circulation which is important for the detoxification process. Rosemary is also very refreshing, invigorating, and clears the mental fog.


3. Lavender

Lavender (lavendula angustifolia) also contains antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties. I love including lavender because its also very soothing and relaxing, which is helpful when you just need to rest and take it easy. This is especially helpful for someone who is constantly on the go, or when being sick is VERY inconvenient and they're upset about being down for the count. My kiddos often fight naps and when they're sick rest is especially important, so lavender is very helpful.


4. Peppermint

Peppermint is an obvious choice during the flu as it helps ease nausea. its cooling effect is also very refreshing when you've been laying in bed all day. Additionally, peppermint contains antibacterial and antiviral properties as well.


The Blend

I diffused the above mentioned essential oils in the following ratios:

  • Orange: 5 drops

  • Rosemary: 5 drops

  • Lavender: 3 drops

  • Peppermint: 2 drops

If you don't have your own collection of essential oils, you can also use pre-made aromatherapy blends. BASIC Purification, for example, is an ideal blend to use to boost the immune system, kill germs and viruses, cleanse the air, and help you feel refreshed and invigorated.


How to Diffuse

If you have a diffuser, GREAT! Be sure to only diffuse in 30-minute incriminates 1-2 times a day. Make sure your room is well ventilated, especially if you're diffusing in a room with children and pets.


If you don't have a diffuser, no worries - you can still diffuse this blend using pot and water. I bring a pot of water to a boil, while that's heating up mix your essential oil blend in a separate bowl (NOTE: you don't want to add your oils directly from the bottle to the hot pot of water as the steam will contaminate your bottle. Blend the oils in a separate bowl and add to the hot water when its ready).


After the water has come to a boil, turn off the heat and add the aromatherapy blend. As the steam carries the essential oils into the air, CAREFULLY walk around the house with the pot, gently fanning the steam around the room. I also set the pot on a table near the ill person to give them closer contact with the aromatherapy blend, and to cleanse the air around them. I've even stood over my sleeping son and waved the steam over him while he sleeps. Please be very careful as the water is hot and you don't want to spill it. Repeat this process 2-3 times per day.


May you find this remedy very helpful, and may you find yourself and your family in great health very soon!


With love and gratitude,

Robin


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
bottom of page