top of page
Search

4 NATURAL REMEDIES FOR SUNBURN

Updated: Jul 6, 2019

As we welcome the summer sun, I wanted to share with you my treasure chest of natural solutions for sunburns.


For as long as I can remember I’ve had at least two major sunburns every summer (I’m very fair, I love to swim, and I don’t like sunscreen), so I am very well versed in natural solutions for saving sun kissed skin. Here are the ingredients I make sure to stock up on before heading outside. Enjoy!

1. Aloe Vera gel is a great and easy to come by solution, but be sure to read the ingredients; if the product you use contains alcohol it may increase chances of peeling (as alcohol has a drying effect).

2. Green Tea is a great solution for sunburn. It’s half of my peel-proof sunburn treatment. Steep a green tea bag in hot water for 7-10 minutes. Then pour the tea into a bowl filled with ice. Soak a towel in the iced tea and apply directly to the sunburned area. When the towel is no longer cold, re-soak and apply. Repeat for at least 20 minutes (I usually repeat this process while watching a favorite tv show or movie). If you have some lavender essential oil, add 5-10 drops for additional benefits.



3. Basic Salve is the other half of my peel-proof sunburn treatment. The Basic Salve includes calendula, a powerful herb for healing UV exposed skin. It also includes vitamin e oil and coconut oil for replenishing moisture, and essential oils that have additional skin healing benefits. I typically apply Salve to my sunburn after the green tea treatment at least 1-2 times before going to bed, and the next morning I’m always relieved and amazed to see how much my skin has improved!

4. Rose is another hidden gem for treating sunburn. Rose petals not only nourish and heal damaged skin, they also draw out heat! What I love about using roses in skin care is that there are so many ways to utilize the healing benefits of this lovely flower. If you have roses growing in your yard, put a couple handfuls of rose petals in a lukewarm bath and soak for at least 10 minutes. Many stores like the Nugget, Wholefoods, and Sprouts carry rose absolute or rose water, both of which can also be added to bath water or used to make a compress (you can also add either of these to #2). Be sure that whatever you’re using is truly of the flower and not simply perfume or fragrance.

5. Bonus tip! Before going out in the sun consume tomato products (i.e. tomato paste, sun dried tomatoes, etc.) – they contain a natural chemical that can actually help protect your skin from UV exposure.

The next time you go to the store, stock up on all these great ingredients to help you enjoy the summer without the pain in the neck (shoulders, chest, or back). ;)

Wishing you a safe, healthy, and happy summer! 

-Robin 

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
bottom of page